Skip to content

Slide Slide Slippity Slide

March 26, 2010

Tonight was one of those terrible lessons where I just couldn’t get things to go right and I felt like my riding skills had plunged down a steep slippery mudslide into a dark unknown abyss.  Okay, I admit that I am being a little melodramatic.  I for some reason got it in my head that I needed to wear my old, smaller spurs (3/4 Prince of Wales) instead of the long pokey rowels (1 1/4 inches) for my past few rides.  I’d had some good rides in the smaller spurs recently and I thought, here’s a good chance to build up my leg muscles.  But tonight, Carly was back to her old ways of  no forward motion.  Ack!

My hands were still trying to ride the new forward Carly, which of course made the problem only worse. I ended up just hanging on her mouth, as if I was trying to collect her, but not accomplishing anything.

So…the lesson for this evening is get some forward motion, then get her shoulders up, then ask her to be round.  Do not try this all at once, or your ride and riding will quickly slide downward.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

